Français

Webinar: The role of local women in accelerating SDG implementation

There is no translation available.

Experiences and challenges to ensure a resilient and inclusive Covid-19 recovery in Latin America and the Caribbean.


Date

15 July 2021

Time

08:00 CST (GMT-6)  |  10:00 EDT (GMT-4)  |  15:00 BST (GMT+1)  |  17:00 EAT (GMT+3)  |  19:30 IST (GMT+5:30)

Duration

2 hours

Langauge

Spanish with English interpretation

Registration link

Register for this event

Overview

Participants will be able to learn about innovative solutions for a Covid-19 recovery that effectively considers gender aspects. During the event, representatives from UN, regional inter-governmental agencies and national women’s groups, will engage in an action-focused discussion that will support the identification of recommendations for inclusion, localisation and gender equality.

Unless development is systematically gender transformative, we will see disasters placing women into intractable cycles of poverty. The Covid-19 pandemic has further deepened this issue: for a Covid recovery to be truly sustainable, and for Sustainable Development Goals 3 and 10 among others to be achieved, local women and girls will have to play a much greater role than the one they had so far.

The event will be structured as follows: after introductory remarks and an overview of this year’s HLPF themes, a panel discussion will delve deeper into the challenges experienced by women and girls in resilience and risk-informed development. We will then discuss actions and solutions to ensure gender-transformative approaches in development and Covid-19 recovery.

This webinar is primarily aimed at development and resilience practitioners in Latin America and the Caribbean. Civil Society Organisations and INGOs from other regions working on gender and development may also find it useful.

Speakers

  • Lic. Claudia Herrera, Secretary General, Centro de Coordinación para la Prevención de los Desastres en América Central y República Dominicana (CEPREDENAC)
  • Breny Herrera Guirola, Executive Director, Instituto de Investigación, Capacitación y Desarrollo de la Mujer (IMU), El Salvador
  • Castorina Villegas, President, Mujeres Unidas Para Un Pueblo Mejor (MUPUPUME), Perú
  • Jennifer Guralnick, Programme Management Officer and Gender Specialist, UNDRR Americas
  • Liza Hernandez, Americas Regional Lead, GNDR (moderator)

 

 

Rejoignez GNDR en tant que membre

Contact

Téléphones: +44 208 977 7726 | 1833 | 2860

Email: info@gndr.org

 

Média social

Nos supporteurs

European Commission words under blue flag with yellow stars    
usaidhorizontal small
UK Government logos 2012 UK AID    australian aid blue and red
Switzerland logo-ministry-of-foreign-affairs
GIZ on behalfof BMZ
Sverige Sweden SIDA Logo

Adresse

Global Hub Office

Global Network of Civil Society Organisations
for Disaster Reduction
8 Waldegrave Road, Teddington,
London
TW11 8HT
United Kingdom

Regional hubs »

Membre de