English

Webinar: Responding to climate impacts and conflict in Africa

Responding to climate impacts and conflict in Africa: local experiences of resilience building to accelerate SDGs 13 and 16.


Date

12 July 2021

Time

09:00 EST (GMT-4)  |  13:00 GMT |  14:00 BST (GMT+1)  |  16:00 EAT (GMT+3)  |  18:30 IST (GMT+5:30)

Duration

90 minutes

Langauge

English with French interpretation

Registration link

Register for this event

Overview

This webinar will focus on SDG Goal 13, 16 and 17, and will seeking to highlight the correlation between the impact of climate change and how this has contributed towards growing incidences of conflict between and amongst communities.

The objectives of the event are to: highlight the impact of climate change in increasing cases of small scale conflict within the region; and to demonstrate best practice adaptation and the importance of involving local actors in all aspects of climate change adaptation and peace and conflict mitigation.

The structure of the webinar will be a panel session with each speakers presenting for five minutes each, followed by Q&A.

Speakers

  • Dr. Johanes A. Belle, University of the Free State - Disaster Management Training and Education Centre for Africa
  • Grace Dorong, Root of Generations
  • Hannah Ndungu, ADRA Africa
  • Mohamed Ben Said, Ministère des Affaires Locales et de l'Environnement, Direction Générale de l'Environnement et Qualité de la Vie, Tunisia
  • Hausner Wendo, World Vision International
  • Dr. Emad Eadly, Arab Network for Environment and Development
  • Bijay Kumar, GNDR

 

 

Join GNDR as a member

Contact

Phones: +44 208 977 7726 | 1833 

Email: info@gndr.org

Social Media

Our Supporters

European Commission words under blue flag with yellow stars    
usaidhorizontal small
UK Government logos 2012 UK AID    australian aid blue and red
2020.02.21 SDC Logo

GIZ on behalfof BMZ
Sverige Sweden SIDA Logo

Address

London Office

Global Network of Civil Society Organisations
for Disaster Reduction
8 Waldegrave Road, Teddington,
London
TW11 8HT
United Kingdom

Regional hubs »

Member of